Civil Service Commission


  • Meetings held as needed
  • City Hall - Conference Room
    620 Erie St.
    Storm Lake, IA 50588

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available at least 24 hours prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda |View All

Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes |View All


The Civil Service Commission consists of three members who are appointed by the Mayor, withCouncil approval, for four-year staggered terms:
  • Mike Ingram
    Term expires July 1, 2017
  • Dan Richardson
    Term expires July 1, 2020
  • Nancy Jensen
    Term expires July 1, 2019


The Storm Lake Civil Service Commission exercises all responsibilities and duties in accordance with the provisions of theCode of Iowa for civil service commissions and any policies, rules, or procedures adopted by the Civil Service Commission.

The commission is responsible for overseeing and approving the testing and hiring process for allpolice officer, lieutenant, assistant chief, police chief, fire chief, and full-time firefighter positions.