Mayor & Council

Form of Government
The City of Storm Lake has a mayor-council form of government with the Council appointing a city manager to serve at the discretion of the Council.

Length of Terms
The Council consists of five council members elected at-large for overlapping terms of four years. The mayor is elected at-large for a four-year term.

Scope of Power & Duties
The mayor is not a member of the Council and does not vote as a member of the Council. The Council, mayor, and city officers have such powers and perform such duties as are authorized by state law and by the ordinances, resolutions, rules, and regulations of the City of Storm Lake.