News Flash

Press Release

Posted on: January 28, 2023

Service Awards to be presented by Storm Lake Police Department

SLPD Service Awards

  “The past year has been another difficult year for our department. We realize that many of our officers have really stepped up to take on additional challenges,” Police Chief Chris Cole said. “I would like to thank all the officers and staff of the department for holding the line and representing the police department in a professional manner. The Service Awards are one small way to recognize the effort they give and the daily sacrifices they make.”

  The SLPD was honored with two major awards during the past year:

  United States Secretary of Defense Freedom Award

  On September 15, 2022, the Storm Lake Police Department was awarded the U.S. Secretary of Defense Freedom Award for support of its military members. Governor Kim Reynolds presented the award in Storm Lake. 

  Only 15 such awards are presented nationwide. The SLPD is the only public sector recipient in Iowa. The department was nominated by Officer Gerardo Bravo and Officer Tyler Munden, who both serve in the Iowa National Guard and have served deployments. The SLPD was selected out of nearly 2,800 nominations nationwide.

ICMA 2022 Community Equity and Inclusion Award: 10,000-49,999 Population

  In September of 2022, the International City/County Management Association awarded the City of Storm Lake the Community Equity and Inclusion Award. Storm Lake was cited for the outreach efforts of the Storm Lake Police Department in its diverse community. 

  The following awards will be presented to members of the Storm Lake Police Department during National Police Week:

  Chief’s Commendations for efficient and effective response to incidents:

• Presented in recognition of response to an attempted murder case in March of 2022:  recipients Lieutenant Jeff Lundberg, Officer Cody Cameron, Detective Bre Nieland, and Officer Thomas Lane.

• Presented in recognition of response during a barricaded gunman with a hostage call in May of 2022: Assistant Chief Patrick Diekman, Detective Randy Weflen, Detective Bre Nieland, Lieutenant Matt Younie; Officer Alyssa Solem, Officer Vu Nguyen, Officer Clinton Butler, Officer Mitch McDonald, Officer Cody Cameron and Officer Dulce Salinas. Additionally, Buena Vista County Sheriff’s Sergeants Bill Sankey and Joe Speers, and deputies Carter Beckman, Brian Shreck, Tayler Cary and Adam Nieland will be honored for their contributions.

• Presented in recognition of response to an attempted murder call in August of 2022: Lieutenant Matt Younie, Detective Bre Nieland, Officer Cody Cameron, Officer Thomas Lane, Officer Derien Beauregard.

• Presented in response to a stabbing incident that occurred in December of 2022: Lieutenant Ray Eickholt, Detective Bre Nieland, Officer Gerardo Bravo, Officer Alyssa Solem, Officer Tyler Munden, Officer Clinton Butler, Officer Derien Beauregard, Officer Mitchell Fritz.

Officer of the Year: Officer Thomas Lane

Civilian of the year: Jessica Meyer

Life Saving Award: For their response to a call of an unconscious person choking - Lieutenant Matt Younie and Officer Mitchell McDonald.

  The following officers will be honored for their performance in detection and apprehension of impaired drivers: Officer Alyssa Solem, Officer Thomas Lane and Officer Mitchell McDonald.

SLPD 2020 Top Shooter Award: Officer Cody Cameron

Service Stripe Award: Officer Tyler Munden will receive the 5-year service award.

SLPD Duty Knife Award (in recognition of graduation from the SLPD Field Training Program): Officer Vu Nguyen


Officer of the Year Thomas Lane

Civilian of the Year Jessica Meyer

Life Saving Award honoree Lt. Matt Younie

Life Saving Award honoree Officer Mitchell McDonald

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Press Release